Happy Thanksgiving Pt. 3

Thursday night I reached the Hatem Memorial Bridge on Highway 40, which crosses the Susquehanna River between Perryville and Havre de Grace. I had tangled with this bridge in 08, when it was being reconstructed, and the law is quite clear: no pedestrians. It’s over a mile long, too long to make a break for it. In ’08 the friend I was staying with, Bo, offered to give me a lift over it. This time I was staying with the mother of a friend from AmeriCorps (she lives in HdG and he lives on Cape Cod). She picked me up in Perryville, drove me back to her house (where I had also stayed in ’08), and shared some of her daughter’s Thanksgiving leftovers. I called my family (who was celebrating the holiday in Philadelphia) and then dug in. Yum, so much better than the gas station sandwich.
Image posted by MobyPicture.com
– Posted using MobyPicture.com

